2020 Agenda

From DevSummit
Jump to: navigation, search

Aspiration events are first and foremost convened to strengthen the ties and social networks of activists, organizers, and technology practitioners in the nonprofit/nongovernmental sectors.

The Dev Summit agenda is designed and facilitated using Aspiration's participatory model, in an environment where powerpoint slides are not a thing, and dialogue and collaboration drive the learning.

Our philosophy centers around getting participants into small-group discussions where they can discuss topics they are passionate about and get answers to their questions and curiosities. Sessions at Aspiration events have particular traits; we de-emphasize broadcast behaviors and fetishizing expertism, and instead focus on working sessions that are self-organized whenever possible to meet the specific needs of those present, in accessible, inclusive ways.

Please note: This is a truly dynamic agenda, and sessions are likely to move around and evolve. We thank everyone in advance for the flexibility.

Wednesday November 18

Opening Session (9.00 PT / 17.00 UTC)

Dev Summit 2020 will be called to order with a friendly and fast-paced kickoff that includes words of welcome, non-verbal participant introductions, along with overviews of the agenda, participation guidelines and meeting logistics.

Story sharing from across our community (10.05 PT / 18.05 UTC)

We'll start the program by lifting up stories and projects from across our network:

Break (11.05 PT / 19.05 UTC)

Working Sessions I (11.20 PT / 19.20 UTC)

Working sessions will invite participants to explore and share knowledge on topics identified in pre-event dialogues. Facilitators will briefly introduce the objective of each session, and participants may then elect to join the session of their choice.

Confirmed sessions are below, and we look forward to co-creating additional sessions in each Working Sessions time slot!

Closing Session (12.40 PT / 20.40 UTC)

The closing session will invite participants to weigh in on what has been most useful during the course of Day 1, and refine their goals and priorities for the agenda of Day 2.

Adjourn (13.00 PT / 21.00 UTC)

Social time (14.30 PT / 22.30 UTC)

We're still figuring out the plan, but we'll give folks options for hanging in more unstructured and hopefully non-annoying virtual spaces.

Thursday, November 19

Opening Session (9.00 PT / 17.00 UTC)

The day will start with a summary of Day 1 reflections and a Day 2 Agenda Overview.

Working Sessions II (9.20 PT / 17.20 UTC)

Confirmed sessions are below, and we look forward to co-creating additional sessions in each Working Sessions time slot!

Break (10.50 PT / 18.50 UTC)

Skillshare and Demo Session (11.10 PT / 19.10 UTC)

Skillshared offered included

  • Find hidden, official Covid-19 data feeds (and turn them into useful graphics)
  • How to plan and develop an organization case statement
  • I can share Mapping your genealogy
  • How to do the turn-your-back-to-the-screen zoom opener
  • Emergency medical for protests (gunshots wounds, bleeding, triage)
  • Powermapping criminal justice reform, campaign finance corruption, fossil fuel divestment using littlesis and research
  • Intro and Tour to CiviCRM (open-source software for constituency relationship management (crm) https://civicrm.org
  • Into the Pivotverse: Leverage multi-tab pivot tables, the all powerful QUERY formula, and all your questions about how to use Pivot tables like a pro!
  • Dealing with loneliness during SIP
  • How to open source: Things to think about/prepare for
  • Follow moon cycles
  • How to write a personal essay that pops
  • Running a direct action signal boost alerts and help desk - Portland BLM experience - organizing nightly 'riot' without getting arrested.

Closing Session (12.40 PT / 20.40 UTC)

Participants to weigh in on what has been most useful during the course of Day 2, and register their goals and priorities for the agenda of Day 3.

Adjourn (13.00 PT / 21.00 UTC)

Open Mic! (14.30 PT / 22.30 UTC)

Got a musical skill, spoken word to speak, a tall tale, a non-marginalizing joke, or something else you would like to share with the group?

Friday, November 20

Opening Session (9.00 PT / 17.00 UTC)

The day will start with a summary of Day 2 reflections and a Day 3 Agenda Overview.

Working Sessions III (9.20 PT / 17.20 UTC)

Confirmed sessions are below, and we look forward to co-creating additional sessions in each Working Sessions time slot!

Break (10.50 PT / 18.50 UTC)

Working Sessions IV (11.10 PT / 19.10 UTC)

Closing Session 12.40 PT / 20.40 UTC)

The group will summarize key outcomes from the event, share appreciations and bring the meeting to a close.

Adjourn (13.00 PT / 21.00 UTC)

Dev Summit 2020 is done, done and done-r!

Self-organized meetups and other fun

We will invite decentralized leadership to create a range of opt-in spaces for socializing and easing into the weekend.

Job Board and Book Recommendations

Hiring or job seeking?

Reading or watching something you want others to know about?